This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

VANHELGA - Exclusive Premiere Of First Ever Music Video

Terra Relicta webmagazine has teamed up with Sweden's Vanhelga, with the band which is constantly straddling the line that divides black metal from DSBM, to offer you an exclusive premiere of their debut music video.

"Utan Mening" the song used in the video, is the opening track from Ode & Elegy and it explores the endlessly repeating cycle of aridity that passes for life. The band's fourth full-length album was released on 1st October 2016 via Talheim Records, whilst the digital version was released on 10th October. The video is directed by J. Ejnarsson and features A. Rohtsalu in the role of a depressed young woman slipping further and further into darkness and despair from which she is unable to escape. Footage of the band is also included in the video. Watch the video in the player below!

Vanhelga music falls between black metal and DSBM, and they use deceptively melodic pieces to create disturbing scenario. The band describes Ode & Elegy as being an album in two parts: "Ode or "Old Diary Entries" is about the deteriorating mental state of a young woman, slipping further and further into depression and darkness. Her recorded voice is intertwined with the music. Elegy is the continuation. It's about looking back and reflecting on those dark situations in life: the hopelessness, drugs, abuse, depression and death. In summary, to understand and accept that life is without meaning."

Artwork for Ode & Elegy is by Gedeminas Kiauné of Manum Diaboli Art and the whole album can be heard on Bandcamp.

Ode & Elegy tracklist:
01. Utan Mening
02. Det Som Aldrig Fans
03. Förstörd
04. Du Finns Dȃr För Mig
05. Jag Återkommer
06. Abstinensens Dystra Tongång
07. Dödförklarad - Ånstad
08. Disharmoni
09. Status - Handlinsförlamad
10. Harmonisk Reflektion
11. Introspektion

Vanhelga is currently lining up a series of shows in support of Ode & Elegy. So far, the following have been scheduled:
25 Nov: November's Doom Festival, Live & Loud, Sofia, Bulgaria
02 Dec: St Petersburg, Russia (with Psychonaut 4)
03 Dec: Moscow, Russia (with Psychonaut 4)
04 Dec: Minsk, Belarus (with Psychonaut 4)
06 Jan: United We Stand Festival, Graz, Austria
07 Jan: Verona Nera Atto X, San Giovanni Lupatoto, Italy

Vanhelga links: Facebook, Bandcamp