PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Sólstafir
- Berdreyminn
02. Ulver
- The Assassination Of Julius Caesar
03. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
04. Anathema
- The Optimist
05. God Body Disconnect
- Sleeper's Fate
06. Peter Bjärgö
- Animus Retinentia
07. Friends Of Alice Ivy
- The Last Days Of Fenwyck
08. Isenordal
- Shores Of Mourning
09. Phallus Dei
- Black Dawn
10. Au-Dessus
- End Of Chapter


Random album

God's Own Medicine - Drachma (2014) - Review

Band: God's Own Medicine
Album title: Drachma
Release date: 17 July 2014
Label: Alchera Visions

01. Clocks
02. Down Below
03. Into The Sun
04. Wrong
05. Down Is The Only Way Out
06. Glass Of Jar
07. Low
08. Fever
09. Coin Of Gold
10. Rainbows

Polish one man band God's Own Medicine is certainly one of the biggest discoveries for me this year and I couldn't believe that I missed out this act which already released its fourth studio album. And so I began my discovery of bands whole discography. The man responsible behind everything is Andy, who is active in the scene since 90's, but under the name God's Own Medicine released three albums, Star Therapy in 2003, Background Noise in 2008 and Nowhere in 2010, one mini album, Red Eyes Removal, with rearanged old tracks in 2012, plus last year an EP entitled Walls, which showed quite a change in sound for this act. Now it's time for a new opus, Drachma, a fantastic release that from any angle sounds like a band with a complete line-up, with fresh rock sound that is not afraid to look into many different directions.

Ten tracks on Drachma show quite a turn from electronic tinged indie rock into darker rock spheres, but still retaining the alternative indie rock as a basis. God's Own Medicine can tease with melancholic tracks, but as well rock hard on the upbeat ones, then again Andy is not afraid to experiment with some post-punk in the vein of New Model Army and of course gothic rock. The rather upbeat tracks like is the opener "Clocks" are an appetizer for all those who are servants to all things indie rock and dig up bands like The Editiors or Interpol. Then there's a lot of gothic rock in the vein of The Mission with occasional hints of Fields Of The Nephilim, even some The Sisters Of Mercy vibe can be found in tunes like "Down Below", "Down Is The Only Way Out" or especially in hard driving gloom as is "Fever", but most of gothsters will find resemblances with German masters Love Like Blood on many levels. I must point out the amazing vocal job, that ranges from that typical rock'n'roll thing to the goth baritone one, always keeping the right mood and it doesn't matter if the ambiance is danceable, more emotional or mournful like in the gloomy beauties "Into The Sun" or "Glass Of Jar". You could even hear some influences of David Bowie in multidimensional "Low". So pretty varied contrast of sounds, yet always being compact and nicely flowing.

The sparkly, then hard driving riffs, even acoustic guitars, are the main instrument that is used for the basis, not to forget sometimes strong bass lines, and then just listen to some very interesting uses of percussions in a couple of tracks. Always keeping the right pace no matter where the song takes you with its radiation. Then gorgeous use of synths that have the power to evoke the ambiances beign near to the ones of Dead Can Dance, for example in "Wrong". And that's not all, God's Own Medicine goes even further to produce special melancholic moments that are in pair with those of Diary Of Dreams from Psychoma, in for example mystical "Coin Of Gold" or in marvelous cinematic "Rainbows", that renders many soul moving feelings, yet with kind of a theatrical spirit. Then some additions of classical strings, orchestrations or the use of some electronics enriches the ambiance in all the parts where being used and is inserted just perfectly. No matter in which direction the album goes it always keeps the right flow, thus beign very dynamic, sincerely dramatic and is full of special pathos. So, all in all Drachma is one of those not to be missed albums for all lovers of the things mentioned above.

"Welcome at the theatre of life / Feel free to erase yourself"

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 8,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Lacrimosa
Album title: Hoffnung
Release date: 6 November 2015
Label: Hall Of Sermon

The beautiful sonic architecture of gothic and symphonic metal, thy name is Lacrimosa. With celebrating 25 years of the formation of this wondrous and astonishing musical act, Hoffnung does not only get credit for being a celebratory album in a way, but also deserves all the praise for bringing yet again the mournful and profound soundscapes we all came to love and adore with albums such as Elodia, Fassade and Echos. Lacrimosa is one of the last few original, inspirational and quality bands from the golden days of gothic metal still standing proud and ongoing, as the duet of Tilo Wolff and Anne Nurmi keeps surprising, with how seemingly effortless they have stayed true to their well-established posture, but at the same time have always managed to expand their signature sound and breathe life into something new and mesmerizing.

Read a full review HERE