PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2016

01. The Human Voice - Silent Heart
02. Trees Of Eternity
- Hour Of The Nightingale
03. Darkher
- Realms
04. Aeon Sable
- Hypaerion
05. The Foreshadowing
- Seven Heads Ten Horns
06. NU:N
- Naked Until Noema
07. Cryo Chamber Collaboration
- Nyarlathotep
08. In The Woods...
- Pure
09. Klimt 1918
- Sentimentale Jugend
10. Terra Tenebrosa
- The Reverses


Random album

Neurotech - Decipher Vol. 2 [EP] (2012) - Review

Band: Neurotech
Album: Decipher Vol.2 [EP]
Release date: 30 September 2012
Label: Self-Released

01. Let The Healing Begin
02. The Race To Recovery
03. A Clouded Mind
04. Is The Sunrise Coming
05. Unconditional
06. This Is The New Age
07. A Separate Way

Neurotech has made a promise that the second instalment for Decipher series of EPs will be shocking, and yes, it is for those who expected a metal record, but those who already enjoyed bands softer and more atmospheric kind of popish oriented vibes in some parts of the songs will find their joy here. Not only that Slovenian one man cyber atmospheric revelation made an example of what is capable to do in those fields, actually we can count this release among the best representatives of, let's say, futuristic cyber pop metal in recent years. For the first time in Neurotechs history there are present female vocals and the overall ambiance is brighter and uplifting than anything that Neurotech released before.
Most of the tracks on this EP are not new, but were waiting for Neurotechs mastermind Wulf in the closet for the right moment, to be redone, reproduced and manipulated. "Let The Healing Begin" is an amazing intro which already haunts you with it's amazing atmosphere and main melody. Piano and spacey synths with shouted verse by Tanja are breathtaking. "Erase Me, don't tell me/ I'll take you far away from here" are the opening words for the ultimate winner up here "The Race To Recovery". Retro pop danceable main refrain and overall captivating ambiance really takes you somewhere. Programmed drum beats are offering an emotional, kind of erotic sound experience, especially because of, this time in it's full glamour present Tanjas voice, forming an outstanding duet with cyber Wulfs vocals. Those searching for harsher metal elements that Neurotech crafted on it's past releases won't find many, as they are almost absent here, o.k. there are some heavy guitar riffs, but they are not dominant. Omnipresent industrial beats are the thing that makes this release harder than it will be vice verse, just listen to "A Clouded Mind" for example. Even if someone could find this release after first two listens kind of bland, should still give it another try, as there are so many layers in those songs that, even if they work somehow mellow, are just waiting to be discovered. From amazing synth work, piano touches, haunting vocal harmonies, electronic beats, industrial and futuristic techno elements, all wrapped into one hell of nicely flowing wall of sound. The lovers of Neurotechs album Antagonist will hate the song "Unconditional", another danceable song that reminded me of Theatre Of Tragedy from Musique or Assembly. Most complex up here is "This Is The New Age", the song that brings in mind the right connection with the first part of Decipher series. Uplifting, yet kind of mystical conclusive "A Separate Way" is the right song for end of this marvelous release. "We came to the phase full of faith and complete indifference" is the verse from before mentioned song and like other lyrics here shows a huge step forward also from this point of view. If I want to search for similarities with other bands there I could find a lot of them, from Enigma, Mike Oldfield, Theatre Of Tragedy, Enya, Rammstein, Samael (from atmospheric Era One and catchy Solar Soul) and much more could be found in here, but that's not the point as Neurotech did an amazing opus of seven captivating tracks with good production. The mood of those tracks is much more solar than for example Decipher Vol.1 or Blue Screen Planet, but still there is some kind of melancholy and depression with kind of gothy edge inside those tracks, like on most songs that Neurotech released in last two years.  The only thing that I think could be done little different are Wulfs over distorted shouted vocals, and a bit of epicness as on 2011 released Blue Screen Planet EP  won't hurt either, but anyway this doesn't ruin the overall perception of this almost 25 minutes long EP.
Yes, Neurotech didn't dissapoint with this one. Decipher Vol.2 shows an outstanding open minded self and wide range of musical influences that Neurotech stirs into one seductive multi layered sound. Still, the choice is upon the fans and if they'll accept what Wulf crafted. I can only recommend this release and at least what you can do is to download this release from Neurotechs Bandcamp page as it's available as "name your price" digital download.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 8,5/10

Related articles

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Sorrowful Land
Album title: Of Ruins...
Release date: 7 November 2016
Label: Solitude Productions

Welcome to an epic doomy journey! Songs are raging from more traditonal doom metal to a pure funeral doom. The band is hailing form Ukraine, a country which is not really known for doom bands, but it's more than great to see that they have promising acts there. Crushing, highly melodic, yet dark and deep, the band marches forward slowly and steady. They are building up one hell of a really nice energy around itself, like a wall of fragile and elegant sounds. With beautiful clean melodies and a clear idea where things are heading the band presents six tracks of pure crushing epic melancholic doom, this is everything you could ever want from a doom metal album, really, this record is a pure pile of gold for all doom metal fans. The songs tend to stick to very typical slow doom tempo, but still there's more than enough going on that you would ever expect. Sorrowful Land will clearly left a mark in the scene for sure with this stunning release.

Read a full review HERE