PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
02. Peter Bjärgö
- Animus Retinentia
03. Phallus Dei
- Black Dawn
04. Saille
- Gnosis
05. Black Anvil
- As Was
06. Heretoir
- The Circle
07. Last Leaf Down
- Bright Wide Colder
08. Bitterfeldt
- Götzen.Dämmerung
09. Elegi
- Bånsull
10. Isenordal
- Shores Of Mourning


Random album

Anfel - Icy World (2015) - Review

Band: Anfel
Album title: Icy World
Release date: 13 July 2015
Label: Crysella Records

01. Cry (feat. Aina)
02. My Truth And Its Gist (feat. Aina)
03. She's Crying Over The River
04. Dance With Death
05. Icy World
06. Why (feat. Aina)
07. In The Darkness Of The Night
08. Station Of Sadness
09. In Black And White Dreams
10. For Nothing
11. Only Angel Will Turn Away
12. Lullaby For The Lady

The Russian metal and gothic scene has grown very much in the last couple of years and it's nothing strange that hundreds of new bands are emerging from there. The only problem is that most of them didn't find their own style and are leeching more or less on the Northern European tradition, but still, you know, nevertheless this is the problem also everywhere else. In all this flood of new bands coming from Russia there are some interesting acts that gained a lot of attention all around the world and I believe that the new project named Anfel, which is centered around the main composer Denis Lobotorov who managed to bring together an interesting package of musicians, is certainly worth some of your interest if you are into female fronted gothic/symphonic/doom metal. I know that it's difficult to create something original and outstanding within this genre, also in here you won't find any special peculiarity, but nevertheless these Russians managed to make an album that has all the necessary elements for being worth some of your precious time. I must also tell you that after some failed attempts of Crysella Records to release a good female fronted metal release I was a bit afraid of what to expect, but the folks of the label this time had a fortunate hand.

Beside the aforementioned main composer, vocalist and bass guitarist Denis, Anfel features female vocalist Viktoria Belchenkova, guitarist Elvira Alchemida from symphonic/extreme metallers Blackthorn, and the guest female vocalist Aina, featured on a couple of tracks, as well known from Blackthorn fame. Musically Anfel (the name is a short version of And New Future Ever Lives), is very strong, with main orientation on gothic doom metal, the prominent heavy driving and often melodic lines are well befuddled with a powerful rhythmic line, while the gothy and symphonic ambiances created with synths serve to bring kind of a multidimensional rich sound, yet because of the great production everything has kind of depth, density and is even stronger as it would be otherwise. Anfel serves here and there with similar vibes to the early days of Norwegian legends Tristania, but also early Sirenia, For My Pain..., as well Theatre Of Tragedy, and most of all because of variety of female vocals and sometimes similar compositions the German gothic/symphonic metal act Coronatus comes in mind. Vocals are mostly centered around the mellow operatic mezzosoprano of Viktoria, backened here and there by Denis's death metal grunts and Aina's soprano. Most of the time this combination works well, especially on the flowing "My Truth And Its Gist", on the catchy "Why" and on similar in structure "Dance With Death", or even more on the almost solemn highlight of the album, the semi-ballad "Station Of Sadness", where the sound of piano and cello must bring some shivers within this almost epic composition.

Now, even if Icy World offers a lot of great tunes and I must expose the fact that there are no unnecessary fillers, there are some moments where Anfel didn't really successfully managed to take advantage of their talent, for example in the otherwise powerful and dense opener "Cry" where female vocals works somehow silly, or in the mellow gothic/symphonic metal of "She's Crying Over The River". Also the in a way rather scatty "In The Darkness Of The Night" didn't really caught my sympathies and those growls on "Only Angel Will Turn Away" are simply unnecessary. But still, don't take me wrong, those are not in any way that bad compositions, we heard much worse things within the genre from much more renowned acts. The album after all nicely closes up with a combination of immense vocal structures, dark powerfull riffs and gentle melodies within "Lullaby For The Lady". All in all, Anfel's Icy World is a nice refreshment, even if it doesn't bring something that unique, original and absolutely spectacular is a strong, professionally done, well composed and very good produced album and a must for every devoted fan of female fronted metal.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 7,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Mütterlein
Album title: Orphans Of The Black Sun
Release date: 22 April 2016
Label: Sundust Records

Truly insane, wicked, haunting and absolutely unique is the debut album of French act Mütterlein. The band is conducted by vocalist, songwriter, composer and performer Marion Leclercq, joined by multi-instrumentalist Christophe Chavanon, and the two describe their musical output as witch wave. Mütterlein on their debut album presents six tracks clocking in around 35 minutes, but what minutes those are, there's not a single moment where the intensity is lacked, nor there's a part without emotional outpours, even if at moments it might sound a bit minimalistic, there's no single moment without being thrown into some kind of a bewitching magical world. Orphans Of The Black Sun is not an easy album, at least after a first couple of listens it might be even disturbing, but the whole thing might drastically change if you immerse yourself a bit more into this musical creation. With Mütterlein's sound we are like being trapped in some sort of underground world or dungeon. This is an opus that conveys sadness and anguish of being, as beautiful as the biting cold of winter, yet as gloomy as a funeral of a loved one. It's all in one - sadistic, dreadful and mesmerizing!

Read a full review HERE