PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2016

01. The Human Voice - Silent Heart
02. Trees Of Eternity
- Hour Of The Nightingale
03. Darkher
- Realms
04. Aeon Sable
- Hypaerion
05. The Foreshadowing
- Seven Heads Ten Horns
06. NU:N
- Naked Until Noema
07. Cryo Chamber Collaboration
- Nyarlathotep
08. In The Woods...
- Pure
09. Klimt 1918
- Sentimentale Jugend
10. Terra Tenebrosa
- The Reverses


Random album

Darkher - Realms (2016) - Review

Band: Darkher
Album title: Realms
Release date: 19 August 2016
Label: Prophecy Productions

01. Spirit Waker
02. Hollow Veil
03. Moths
04. Wars
05. The Dawn Brings A Saviour
06. Buried Pt. I
07. Buried Pt. II
08. Foregone
09. Lament
10. Buried [Bonus]
11. Ghost Tears [Bonus]
12. The Wreckage (demo version) [Bonus]

Darkher's debut album Realms is without any doubt one of the most anticipated releases for me this year, mostly because I simply admired the EP The Kingdom Field, which was released in 2014. Ok, for those of you who don't know, Darkher is a solo project of flame-haired siren and songwriter Jayn H. Wissenberg who comes from West Yorkshire in UK. Darkher's music is one of those captivating, highly atmospheric, unpretentiously dark and absolutely emotive sonic creations meant to feed your spirit. Jayn's songs are simply mesmerizing, beautiful, fragile, but at the same time there's present some kind of horror, intense veil of darkness and huge amount of almost raw power brought to the surface by stormy wall of guitar sound. Now, the debut full-lenght album Realms, impressively proves that the fire of great expectations raised by the debut EP and by some other songs that Darkher released before and after that, was more than justified. The album features nine distinctive, dynamic and dramatic tracks that are impossible to resist.

Realms can't be approached as a typical album, it's more like a soundtrack, a musical journey, where Jayn haunts the listener with tales that lie somewhere between this sphere and the unseen world. It's a trip into the dark depths of past ,future or present, always in connotation with water, rivers that offer everyday a different picture, most of the time it's a beautiful serene stream which can became in an instant a flooding mass of destructive power. That's present in Darkher's songs and believe me that you'll feel just like being inside of it, swallowed by waves and current that brings life and destruction. It's difficult to characterize the genre, but there are traces of dark apocalyptic folk music, post-rock, doom, dark ambient, esoteric, gothic and yet you can find something more. No matter what, the sound of Darkher is veined by both an unsettling atmosphere of encroaching dread and a deep, otherworldly confidence. 

Album opens up with the esoteric ambiental intro "Spirit Waker" where distant drones proceed into seemingly calm acoustic "Hollow Veil" which slowly intensifies and already brings some shivers down the spine with its intense pounding drums, with slow and creepy strong bass lines and strangely distorted doomy guitar sound, and it's nothing strange if the atmosphere created can bring in mind pictures of apocalypse. But it's Jayn with her dark and fragile, but overall sensual, yet ethereal, powerful and somehow hypnotic voice that adds kind of a multidimensional magic and serene scent into every song up here. Darkher shows her uncompromising compositional talent in songs like it's the evocative slowly building in atmosphere "Moths" and in menacing storm of emotions brought by almost epic "Foregone", which was already present on the debut EP, and mesmerizes with its captivating thumping rhythmic line and addictive doomy post-rock-ish melody that so carefully intensifies until reaching some kind of a climax. "Wars" on the other side is maybe the most dramatic and as well most claustrophobic song on this album, you can almost feel the dread and immense power that in a sinister way drowns in haunting lush atmosphere that simply gets you goose bumps. Everything calms down in acoustic esoterism of "The Dawn Brings A Saviour" and then expands the borders of anything atmospheric, doomy and gloomy in both parts of "Buried". It's almost like a theatre of lost souls singing a lullaby for all that is vanishing. Realms ends with one of the oldest songs ever shared of Darkher, "Lament", a sweet transcedental acoustic piece that couldn't be more appropriate to end this absolutely stunning piece of art.

Realms can bring into listeners senses many different states of emotion, from dreadful angst, horror and fear, to immense beauty and calmness of mind, it's a glimmering of hope for the lost ones, but it can be as well a manace for others. It brings warmth when needed, but as well it glazes with freezing icing over your body. Darkher made a truly transcedental album that can't be really compared to anything done before, it's a sonic journey for your mind and soul, taking the listener into darkness filled with ever changing reflections of water. This is a walk through changeably stormy weather, most of the time it's cruel, but there are traces of sun and on the distant horizon you can see clearness.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 9,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Bands: Apocryphos, Kammarheit, Atrium Carceri
Album title: Onyx
Release date: 08 September 2015
Label: Cryo Chamber

Onyx is one of the dark ambient albums that we will still be speaking of in 10 years. The level of workmanship on Onyx can't be understated. The intricacy of each layer is astounding. There is attention to the minutest details given throughout the album. It has no beginning and no ending; it stays with you once you have experienced it. One track will induce a calm meditative state while the next will unnerve you just enough to feel the evolving emotions yet not be jarred from the experience. Onyx is an instant classic of the dark ambient genre. The talent of the individual artists throughout cannot be understated, and the mastering work and vision of Simon Heath bringing it all together at the end is possibly the best yet on Cryo Chamber. Onyx is a nonstop pleasure from beginning to end and a must have album for any fan of the dark ambient genre. The dynamics on some tracks and slow progressions on others showcase the breadth of sound arrangements which fit into dark ambient and the ability to blend them all together for one epic release. This album is sure to send reverberations through the genre, as it has through me.

Read a full review HERE