Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Sólstafir
- Berdreyminn
02. Ulver
- The Assassination Of Julius Caesar
03. Lacrimosa
- Testimonium
Sun Of The Sleepless - To The Elements
05. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
06. Peter Bjärgö
- Animus Retinentia
07. End Of Green
- Void Estate
Anathema - The Optimist
09. Friends Of Alice Ivy
- The Last Days Of Fenwyck
10. Last Leaf Down
- Bright Wide Colder


Random album

Nachtsucher - Komm Mit Mir (2016) - Review

Band: Nachtsucher
Album title: Komm Mit Mir
Release date: 28 October 2016
Label: Tiefklang Records

01. Intro
02. Verlassen
03. In dir
04. Such nach mir
05. Komm mit mir
06. Verlier nicht die Zeit
07. Was du willst
08. Wenn du kommst
09. Diese Nacht
10. Helden
11. In das Licht hinein

Gothic metal made in Germany has a strong heritage, just remember bands like EverEve, Darkseed, Dreadful Shadows, End Of Green, Crematory and some others, who made a huge impact on the whole dark metal/rock scene back in the early 90s, and some of them are still making it. A bit later the phenomenon named Rammstein was born and things were never the same again. Nactsucher is one of those newcomers who are interesting enough to give them some attention. They incorporate in their music that typical early "made in Germany" gothic metal thing and as well more modern approach with influences from industrial rock, electronic, gothic rock and of course NDH (Neue Deutsche Härte, engl. New German Hardness), which seems to be very popular in their country right now.

Nachtsucher were formed in 2011 by vocalist Christian, guitarist Björn and drummer Stefan, all of them playing before in some other rather unknown bands, except for their new bass player Holger who joined them in the beginning of this year and he's known for being a part of now very popular symphonic metallers Xandria in their early days. It took them five years to finally finish their debut album and believe me that Komm Mit Mir sounds nothing alike a debut, but more like if it was their fifth or sixth album already, it's evident that the guys put a lot of effort into it, not only compositional wise, but as well productional wise. Still, Nachtsucher doesn't offer anything really new, originality might be their only weakness, they stick to the approved formula, with the sound that is based mostly on gothic metal and blending into it the influnces mentioned before.

These eleven tracks on Komm Mit Mir are quite addictive, yet unpretentious, simple rhythms, catchy melodies, strong and massive driving guitar lines, pounding drum beats and thick bass lines, everything spiced up with gloomy atmospheric goth keys and cyber electronics that make it even more captivating, thus the soundscapes are dynamic and what matters the most - enjoyable for every fan of the genre. The lyrics are all in German language, giving it additional heaviness, delivered nicely by singer Christian who has a strong rather hoarse voice, but deep and haunting enough. Some might draw comparisions with bands like Oomph!, ASP, Mono Inc., Crematory, Rammstein and other similar bands, but this is mostly because of the industrial and NDH influence which is strongly present throughout the whole album.

From the heavy hitting "Verlassen" on you'll feel it how the band builds up in ambiance which gets in my opinion its peak in the melancholic "Such nach mir" or in the rather doomy gothic metal masterpiece "Verlier nicht die Zeit", where the band adds to the picture some symphonic elements and gloomy piano touches that so nicely deepen the atmosphere. Also for romantic souls there is something in here, for example the almost epic beautiful atmospheric semi ballad "Helden" and track named "Was du willst" can evoke such feelings, but not only, the danceable rhythms and captivating melody of "Diese Nacht" and "In das Licht hinein" will make your heart sing and feet move. "Wenn Du kommst" on the other side is a heavy industrial rock driver that draws its influence mostly from Rammstein, but if you pay enough attention you'll hear also elements used before by Paradise Lost on their Symbol Of Life album. Almost all of the tracks have a certain pop sensibility inherited in them what makes them even more appealing already on the first listen, and those sing along choruses must be a blast when played live, especially in the German spoken countries. There are some fillers here, but it doesn't ruin the overall impression as the whole thing is very flowing, fresh, songs are coherent, compact and most of all very addictive. 

Nachtsucher already with this debut album, which is released by their own, recently established label, Tiefklang Records, enthuses a lot and shows a huge potential. Not only that the band put a lot of attention to every compositional and recording detail, also the artwork with a lot of symbolism in it is pretty impressive. Komm Mit Mir is a very recommended album from my side side, it will most likely offer an enjoyable time while listening to it to a wide array of different listeners. Good job Nachtsucher, I'll certainly keep an eye on your future endeavours.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 8/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Near Earth Orbit
Album title: Trans Neptunian Objects
Release date: 9 October 2015
Label: Solar Lodge

We are back in the future, exactly in the year 2034. The second chapter of Near Earth Orbit invites us again to experience an imaginary movie created by the force of sound. Now the mother Earth is left behind, it went into ashes; do you remember the last words on End Of All Existence from the communication between the Mission Control Centre and Ashley Dayour? "OMG the apocalypse is fucking beautiful!", Ashley said in the end of the of the album which was released in May this year, and then it was only silence... Now Artaud Seth (Garden Of Delight, Merciful Nuns, Lutherion) and Ashley Dayour (Whispers In The Shadow, The Devil & The Universe, Coma Divine,...) are deep in the space. Trans Neptunian Objects reveals why the E.D.E.N. mission was discharged there and how it got there, the significance of the Einstein-Rosen Bridge and also which part a pre-human device buried deep in the desert sand has got to play in all of this. It's almost impossible to separate the first Near Earth Orbit's chapter, End Of All Existence, and the second one, Trans Neptunian Objects. Musically the new effort by Artaud and Ashley differs a bit from the previous one. While the biggest emphasis on the first chapter was on dreadful apocalyptic atmosphere, now the two based their sound a bit more on powerful, still very cinematic and atmospheric doomy gothic rock. Trans Neptunian Objects is a strong and dark album from every possible point of view, it's a solid and extraordinary release, perfectly capturing the feeling and experience of being in the vastness of space, yet it's very well produced piece of unique sonic darkness that shouldn't be missed out.

Read a full review HERE