PopUp MP3 Player (New Window)

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2017

01. Au Champ Des Morts
- Dans La Joie
02. Peter Bjärgö
- Animus Retinentia
03. Phallus Dei
- Black Dawn
04. Saille
- Gnosis
05. Black Anvil
- As Was
06. Heretoir
- The Circle
07. Last Leaf Down
- Bright Wide Colder
08. Bitterfeldt
- Götzen.Dämmerung
09. Elegi
- Bånsull
10. Isenordal
- Shores Of Mourning


Random album

Wolvennest - Wolvennest (2017) - Review

Band: Wolvennest
Album title: Wolvennest
Release date: 27 January 2017
Label: Ván Records

01. Unreal
02. Partir
03. Tief Unter
04. Out Of Darkness Deep
05. Nuit Noire de L'Âme

Wolvennest, a new project from Belgium born to bring a new level of heavy, dark and hypnotic music to our decadent and mentally corrupted world, is here to muddle our senses with one of the grimmest, yet morbid sonic marvels made to destroy everything we thought is real. A project comprised of members from established bands like Kirby Michel (La Muerte), Corvus von Burtle (Cult Of Erinyes) and Marc De Backer (Mongolito), along with John Marx (Temple Of Nothing), Shazzula (known for her experimental movie, Black Mass Rising) and Jason Van Gullick, add to this line-up as guests and co-writers also Albin Julius and Marthynna from Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand, and you can expect nothing but a soul shivering continuous attack on your depraved senses.

Wolvennest takes the listener in the world of rituals and occult practices with five lenghty tracks of unimaginable depth and psychedelic swirls. It's a cinematic sonic sound that blends together in a staggering way elements of 70s krautrock, doom, blackened psychedelic rock and of course plenty of drone-ambient infused darkness. I think that you guessed it right that not every mood fits right to fully experience this album, and of course it's not even meant for larger audience, it's just for those who search something extravagantly sinister in the music they listen to. Wolvennest or sometimes called Wlvnnst is creepy and throughout haunting, especially when both female vocalist, Shazzula and Marthynna, with their extremely sombre yet captivating singing style break through these sometimes repetitive bass infused doomy lines.

Already a look at the hypnotic front cover artwork gives kind of an inkling of what should we expect and already in the first few minutes of ten minutes long opener "Unreal" the listener is taken into dimensions unknown. Doomy extended guitar lines, diabolic gloomy synths that serve as a perfect backdrop and quite elongated rhythms made of reverberate bass lines and pounding drum beats are simply transcedental. All over you'll be encompassed by intriguing melodies and often you'll hear some well inserted guitar leads. The instrumental side of the album perfectly serves as a base to this haunting, kind of a floating female voice that slowly melts together your body and soul when it appears. While the album progresses it becomes more and more cinematic, sometimes it feels like a soundtrack to any of 70s horror flicks, other times because of its crushing heaviness and inherited darkness it feels like a premotion of apocalypse, just listen to the instrumental "Partir", or to the next one, "Tief Unter", which so nicely builds up the tension. The culmination of everything comes with more than 20 minutes long epic "Out Of Darkness Deep". A real drug infused hallucinating journey into the depths of hell and back. At certain parts it gets so fucking heavy that it shakes your internal organs, but Wolvennest know how to keep the trajectory line between utter darkness and magical captivating sound with melodic lines and those haunting female vocals.

The whole album is like some kind of a black ritual which ends with a rather disturbing cinematic ambiental piece "Nuit Noire de L'Âme". When album ends many of those who'll let themselves go with this flow will be left breathless, believe me, I went through this. Wolvennest made such a well balanced dark sonic journey, it can become a bit monothone if you're not in the right mood, it needs devotion of your whole presence. It's blurred sometimes, with fitting, rather dusty vintage production, it's wicked, it unfolds such an obscure, swirling movie score – it's like a celluloid screening of disturbed rituals, heralding nothing but the great old ones!

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 8,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Lacrimosa
Album title: Hoffnung
Release date: 6 November 2015
Label: Hall Of Sermon

The beautiful sonic architecture of gothic and symphonic metal, thy name is Lacrimosa. With celebrating 25 years of the formation of this wondrous and astonishing musical act, Hoffnung does not only get credit for being a celebratory album in a way, but also deserves all the praise for bringing yet again the mournful and profound soundscapes we all came to love and adore with albums such as Elodia, Fassade and Echos. Lacrimosa is one of the last few original, inspirational and quality bands from the golden days of gothic metal still standing proud and ongoing, as the duet of Tilo Wolff and Anne Nurmi keeps surprising, with how seemingly effortless they have stayed true to their well-established posture, but at the same time have always managed to expand their signature sound and breathe life into something new and mesmerizing.

Read a full review HERE