This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Aeon Sable
- Aether
02. Amorphis
- Queen Of Time
03. Atrium Carceri
- Codex
04. Dimmu Borgir
- Eonian
05. Behemoth
- I Loved You At Your Darkest
06. The Eternal
- Waiting For The Endless Dawn
07. MGT
- Gemini Nyte
08. Primordial
- Exile Amongst The Ruins
09. Khôrada
- Salt
10. Immortal
- Northern Chaos Gods


Random album

Parzival - Die Kulturnacht (2013) - Review

Band: Parzival
Album title: Die Kulturnacht
Release date: 14 January 2013
Label: Euphonious Records / Voices Music & Entertainment

01. Panta Rai
02. Kolowrath
03. Er Borca
04. Kali-Yuga
05. Das Gold der Partei
06. Die Kulturnacht
07. Cursus Polaris
08. Die Okkultistischen Matrosen
09. Eisenbrot
10. Zavarakatranemija
11. Der Schwarze Vatikan

Parzival were formed back in 1992 under the name Stiff Miners and changed it into Parzival later in 1998 and this make me wonder why this band hasn't got any bigger reputation in all this time. The answer is very simple, because their music is one of the most boring on the planet and their eighth studio album just proves this again. I was familiar only with their previous album from 2010 Urheimat and believe me, yes it was monotone and at least to say boring as hell. Their current album actually offers slightly different picture regarding previous one, as there are no more EBM/industrial influences dominating the sound, but it's rather more oriented towards martial industrial, dark cinematic, neo-classical and gothic sounds.

On Die Kulturnacht Parzival takes influences mostly from classical symphonic music like Wagner, Stravinsky, martial industrial and the most recognizable influence are Laibach. To tell you the truth and to give you a better insight into what is all about, I find this record as a mix between early works of Laibach and Mortiis from Keiser Av En Dimensjon Ukjent for example. But those two knew how to make music interesting and flowing, on the other side the output from Danish Parzival tries to be too monolithic and this make this record so monothone that it almost hurts. I can't say that it does not offer some splendid moments like on epic, extremely dark "Kolowrath", a bit more playful and theatrical "Zavarakatranemija" and in my opinion the best one here "Der Schwarze Vatikan" which sounds like kind of middle earth hymn. The rest is really predictable and neither 37 classical musicians from Prague who delivered some outstanding strings, brass and woodwinds can't save the thing. Neither seven piece Danish/Russian female choir which made some nice insertions can't, the reason is because all this doesn't became noticeable as it should and is overwhelmed by extremely monothone, "too deep" vocal approach from vocalist and band founder Dimitrij Bablevskij. Main vocals are similar to those of Milan Fras from before mentioned Laibach played at slower speed and sangt by a depressed zombie. Yes, Die Kulturnacht from Parzival shows in a great way that not only great musicianship, huge orchestrations, bombastic elements and all the rest can make a solid album. You need interesting song structures, dynamic vocals and certain drive through the album that keeps the listener interested. In the sector of for example martial industrial Kreuzweg Ost showed a lesson how to do this. Parzival fails in a great way doing the same thing.

Anyway, this was my experience with this album and if you are still interested in how this sounds check this album, still it has its moments that are worth take a listen or two. Production is good, those classical elements also. I believe that this one could work just fine as a soundtrack to some "B" horror movies dealing with a lot of suspense where at the end nothing exciting happens.

Review written by: T.V.
Rating: 3,5/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Near Earth Orbit
Album title: Trans Neptunian Objects
Release date: 9 October 2015
Label: Solar Lodge

We are back in the future, exactly in the year 2034. The second chapter of Near Earth Orbit invites us again to experience an imaginary movie created by the force of sound. Now the mother Earth is left behind, it went into ashes; do you remember the last words on End Of All Existence from the communication between the Mission Control Centre and Ashley Dayour? "OMG the apocalypse is fucking beautiful!", Ashley said in the end of the of the album which was released in May this year, and then it was only silence... Now Artaud Seth (Garden Of Delight, Merciful Nuns, Lutherion) and Ashley Dayour (Whispers In The Shadow, The Devil & The Universe, Coma Divine,...) are deep in the space. Trans Neptunian Objects reveals why the E.D.E.N. mission was discharged there and how it got there, the significance of the Einstein-Rosen Bridge and also which part a pre-human device buried deep in the desert sand has got to play in all of this. It's almost impossible to separate the first Near Earth Orbit's chapter, End Of All Existence, and the second one, Trans Neptunian Objects. Musically the new effort by Artaud and Ashley differs a bit from the previous one. While the biggest emphasis on the first chapter was on dreadful apocalyptic atmosphere, now the two based their sound a bit more on powerful, still very cinematic and atmospheric doomy gothic rock. Trans Neptunian Objects is a strong and dark album from every possible point of view, it's a solid and extraordinary release, perfectly capturing the feeling and experience of being in the vastness of space, yet it's very well produced piece of unique sonic darkness that shouldn't be missed out.

Read a full review HERE