This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Terra Relicta Top 20 Of 2018

01. Aeon Sable
- Aether
02. Amorphis
- Queen Of Time
03. Atrium Carceri
- Codex
04. Dimmu Borgir
- Eonian
05. Behemoth
- I Loved You At Your Darkest
06. The Eternal
- Waiting For The Endless Dawn
07. MGT
- Gemini Nyte
08. Primordial
- Exile Amongst The Ruins
09. Khôrada
- Salt
10. Immortal
- Northern Chaos Gods


Random album

Cavemaster - In Memoriam (2017) - Review

Band: Cavemaster
Album title: In Memoriam
Release date: 1 November 2017
Label: Fatsound Productions

01. Existencia...Sem Existir    
02. Negros Caminhos
03. Cavernal Pensamento Existencial    
04. In Memoriam
05. Libertaçăo (feat. Marta Bika)
06. Sem Vida, Vivo Morto    
07. Anseio a Morte    
08. Alucinaçăo    
09. Nulidade (Nihil)
10. Podridăo

"Entre quatro paredes sobrevivo, será que estou vivo ? Ou sou uma imagem que alguem imaginou ou um pesadelo que alguem sonhou?"

Emerging from the most darker alleys of Sintra in Portugal, Cavemaster, that in less than six months from their first album, Sob O Abismo Do Infinito, are now releasing their sophomore full-length named In Memoriam. I did the review of their first album, I was very surprised by the peculiar style of these Portuguese black metallers and you can check it out over HERE. The first full-length album shows deep roots in the old-school black metal with some thrash and death metal influences, but yet with this haunting 60s horror soundscapes coming along. Cavemaster has some similarities with the fellow band Lux Ferre. Both explore this kind of strange originality, their style is not the most popular, or rather saying is not well known.

Cavemaster were in the process of composing the songs for their next album, when they suddenly lost long-time friends. Completely devastated by the sudden loss and flooded by the despair of not finding them anymore, they imposed a herculean effort and began the conception of In Memoriam. I have to recognize first the beautiful expression of feelings that led to this album. In Memoriam is an example of that when we really want something, we can do it, we will find time, we will dedicate our body and soul. The jump in quality that this band has given with the release of this album is also worthy of note. Simply because it was conceived in a short time. A full-length dedicated to a deeply fraternal love that bonds all them to their loved ones that are in another multiverse now.

What will you find on this new album? The background landscape remains haunted, still reminiscent of the horror films of the 60s. Seems to be a well established characteristic of Cavemaster, at least until now. A distillation of blackened essence, a depressive black metal full of despair with slow and moderate tempos, the 60s synth, the solemn demonic speech and guttural outcries of Revage, a mix between death/doom disgrace. The music continues to be raw and polluted, what is one of the characteristic that can't be forgotten, but as I said in another review, dirty don't means inaudible!

Cavemaster pay attention to this fact and this time present us with a more clear approach, what makes me identify all the instruments. Rater, the drummer, shows for what he come for, powerful action, full of anger mixed with a painful passion. But this feature of Portuguese black metal besides depositing itself in the field of depression, presents beautiful atmospheric parts in the tracks, I would never have imagined, that the atmospheric and melodic approach could be reached with such sentiment by these demonic entities.

"Existęncia Sem Existir", "In Memoriam" and "Libertaçăo" are my favourite tracks in the atmospheric, etheric and depressive aspect. Combining the emotional content of lyrics with the melancholic atmosphere, many times ethereal, almost angelic with a dynamic structure with harsh aggression in the speed parts. In "Negros Caminhos" a very light dose of hardcore can be found, yet rooted in the depressive metal side and so is the track "Sem Vida, Vivo Morto". Special attention again for the track with the amazing guest vocalist Marta Bika that has sang as an enchanted fairy, what a fucking beautiful track!

In Memoriam is an atmospheric, depressing and rough journey into the debris of minds tortured by longing, the band's most refined and emotionally comprehensive album compared to the first one. Cavemaster must be congratulated that in such a short time had the ability to modify and trim edges and present a work really superior to the previous one. I hope that 2018 can bring us an even better album, polished to perfection. If Cavemaster has not yet reached the ears of metalheads around the world, they will surely excel in the Portuguese scene this year.

Review written by: Felin Frost
Rating: 8/10

Recommended by Terra Relicta

Band: Mesarthim
Album title: Pillars [EP]
Release date: 31 March 2016
Label: Avantgarde Music

Mesarthim enthused and shocked the black metal scene with their own brand of atmospheric or so called cosmic/space black metal on their debut album, but not only, you will find in there several elements, ranging from dsbm to symphonic, from blackgaze to electronic and yet much more, everything perfectly arranged and composed into one well flowing mass of sound that takes the listener into the galaxies unknown. Now, if Mesarthim didn't even land on this earth yet, they went even further into the vast space, into complete darkness, inhospitability,... Pillars offers four very unique tracks, even if the elements used are nothing new and the use of those diversities might cause some second thoughts in some of you, but believe me that everything is performed so well that the only consequence is transcendental, rich, yet dense sound and hypnotic multilayered soundscapes that offer nothing but pure joy while immersing yourself into this otherworldly sonic mass.

Read a full review HERE