This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album


France-based gothic, darkwave, with influences from classical and baroque music project Exponentia, was founded in September 2012 by Ludovic Dhenry, a solo artist of many "musical faces"- all dark though. His other projects like Résonance Magnétique, Zauber and Eleventh Fear testify in favour of this. But Exponentia stands out because it "understands orchestral arrangements, and above all, it is really what I am internally", as states Ludovic Dhenry in the interview for The independent voice. Exponentia is a fantasy world, the lyrics tell stories from this world, and "I live in this imaginary world all the time, I prefer it to the real world".

Creatures such as vampires, angels, humans, witches,... as well as dark emotions run through the work. Reading the lyrics, you realize that each song tells a little dark story, a scene of life in an imaginary world. With each new album, this fantasy world is created. Lyrics are highlighted by a demonic vocal, transformed with an electronic multi-effects processor, "it’s not a human who expresses himself in my songs".  Ludovic gets his inspiration from fantasy and adventure novels, as well as from science fiction. The music is inspired by German gothic music, 18th-century classical and baroque music. Each of Exponentia's five albums and one EP has its sound colour, with a recurring and very present atmosphere in the music, sadness and melancholy.

But to get the whole story, you have to listen to an album from beginning to end, and maybe, at least for a while, even become a part of the story. Ludovic Dhenry's music is recorded, mixed and mastered in his studio and produced on his own label, Neris Records, and all the amazing artwork is Ludovic's creation, as well. This Thursday's [Dark] Unknown will focus on Exponentia's last album Tränen des Leidens, which was released 4 December 2020, but in this extended radio show, you'll get to hear some of its previous songs as well. Tune in on Terra Relicta radio and enjoy your new world(s).

Albums & EP:
- Tränen des Leidens (2020)
- Du wirst sein (EP) (2020)
- Abend (2016)
- Ghost (2014)
- Sadness (2013)
- Allein (2012)
- Sara Noxx feat. Mark Benecke - Jeanny
EP CD - Prussia Records (2016)
Track: Jeanny (Exponentia Remix)

Exponentia links: Facebook, Bandcamp, YouTube

Exponentia's music will be presented in the radio show [Dark] UNKNOWN this Thursday, 21 January at 22.00 (CET) on Terra Relicta Radio.

Edited by Jerneja