This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album


Pagan metal band Helgrind from Havana, Cuba, was founded in the Summer of 2012 by guitarist Jordi Fuentes Serrano and bassist Daniel López Lameiro, soon after joined by vocalist Ernesto Riol Betancourt. This format laid the foundations for what would be the band's music line. At the beginning of 2013, guitarist Pablo Robbio Borrego (ex-Abbadon) and keyboardist Celia Rodríguez Luis joined the band. In this formation, Helgrind performed its first concert on 26 October 2013 at the Maxim Rock Hall in Havana. In the following years, the line-up kept changing. During that time,  Helgrind also became part of the Hermanos Saiz Association, an institution that represents the movement of amateur artists in Cuba and launched a demo titled Time To Conquer (2014), produced by the band in collaboration with Jorge A. Marín Grogg, who recorded, mixed and mastered all the tracks in his studios.

In 2015 Carlos E. Cepero Valdés (Aventi) joined the band on drums, and  Helgrind again appeared at Maxim Rock Hall in the fifth edition of the festival 666, and with great acceptance by the public. In November 2016, the band performed at one of the most prestigious Cuban festivals, Ciudad Metal. During 2017 the group made several presentations in the capital and at metal festivals like Sonidos De La Ciudad (province of Camagüey) and Rock Del Río (Artemisa). In 2018 they continued to perform throughout the country, participating in national festivals like Intermetal and Ciudad Metal. The most important presentation of the band to date was undoubtedly the one carried out at the El Proyecto venue on 13 October, where shared the stage with the legendary Polish black metal band Besatt. At the end of 2018, Helgrind self-released its first full-length album entitled Through The Helgrind's Gates. The album recorded in Deepblast Studios musically reflects a hybrid between death, viking and melodic death metal, and includes versions of songs released in the 2014 demo, with a new sound and new arrangements that adapt to the current format of the band, serving as a transitional step to the pagan metal that predominates in the concept of the new compositions of the quintet.

During 2019 the group performed in the reopened Maxim Rock Hall on numerous occasions, including the Maxim Fest. They also culminated the recording process of their sophomore album Return To Motherland with a more melodic and experimental musical line than the previous one. In 2020 and due to the pandemic, Helgrind was only able to make two presentations. After the last one, the guitarist Pablo Robbio decided to leave to take care of his musical projects. Instead, Ramsés Limonte Montero (Congregation, ex-Abbadon) joined the band, which soon entered Deepblast Studios to make their next recording, the EP The Tragedy Of Túrin Turambar, released on 29 November 2020 via Black Spark Records, with which the band had just signed. The EP gained many positive reviews and admiration of foreign bands like Wolfchant and Forefather, which Helgrind also covers in this production. On 17 January, the album Return To Motherland gets re-released through Black Spark Records.

On the lyric, the compositions refer to themes of paganism, battles, fantasy and legends, all developed in ancient Europe and interpreted mainly in English with the occasional verse in other languages.

Follow the [Dark] UNKNOWN far back in the pagan times, with Helgrind, this Thursday, 8 April, on Terra Relicta radio.

Helgrind line-up:
Ernesto Riol Betancourt (2012 - present) - vocals and choirs
Jordi Fuentes Serrano (2012 - present) - guitar
Daniel López Lameiro (2012 - present) - bass and choirs
Carlos E. Cepero Valdés (2015 - present) - drums and choirs
Ramsés Limonte Moreno (2020 - present) - guitar

Past members:
Pablo Robbio Borrego (2013 - 2014, 2016 - 2020) - guitar and choirs
Celia Rodríguez Luis (2013 - 2015) - keyboards and choirs
Damien Vivas Gergundes (2014)- drums
Carlos A. González Gómez (2015) - guitar

Helgrind discography:
- Time To Conquer [Demo] (2014)
- Through The Helgrind´s Gates (2018)
- The Tragedy Of Túrin Turambar [EP] (2020)
- Return To Motherland (2021)

Helgrind links: Facebook, Bandcamp, YouTube

Helgrind's music will be presented in the radio show [Dark] UNKNOWN this Thursday, 8 April at 22.00 (CET) on Terra Relicta Radio.

Written by Jerneja