This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

THE DREAMSIDE - Exclusive Pre-Listening Premiere Of The Song From Upcoming Release


It's just a few days that separate us from the official release date of The Dreamside's new very special release, an unique compilation entitled Another Spark Of Light. Another Spark Of Light will be out on 27th May via Spin Moon Media and is an album created in close cooperation with guest-musicians who are closely connected to the band. The Dreamside asked their fans to suggest songs which should appear in an alternative version on this album. The fan-requested songs have been reworked together with musicians who played an important role in the history of The Dreamside. The result is Another Spark Of Light, an album that has been produced with a lot of effort and love for details.
Terra Relicta Dark Music Webmagazine has teamed up with the Dutch gothic metal/dark wave act to give you a pre-listening exclusive streaming of one of the featured tracks and we choose the fantastic acoustic version of "Above Below Around", you are welcome to give it a listen in the Soundcloud player below. The track is performed by German dark wave band 18 Summers, a band known until 2002 under the name Silke Bischoff. The Dreamside bassist and programmer Roman Schönsee already worked close with 18 Summers since the late 90s as their producer, and the vocalist Kemi Vita appeared as a guest musician on various 18 Summers releases. In 2007 18 Summers and The Dreamside did already a collaboration with the song “Treasures”. The track "Above Below Around" was originally featured on The Dreamside's third studio album, Mirror Moon, which was released in 2001 and then in 2011 re-released with re-produced versions of the songs "Mirror Moon" and "Above Below Around".


Another Spark Of Light tracklist:
01. Joyfire
Performed by: The Dreamside
02. Forsaken
Performed by: The Dreamside
03. Silently Awake
Performed by: Ralf Mastwijk, Kemi Vita
04. Everlasting – Acoustic version
Performed by: The Dreamside
05. Spin Moon Magic – Acoustic version
Performed by: The Dreamside, Wim van Velzen
06. Slay Your Dragons – Piano version
Performed by: Dylan Viset and Kemi Vita
07. Eurylheia – 2015 version
Performed by: Kemi Vita, Fried Jan Bruggink
08. Above Below Around
Performed by: 18 Summers
09. Carry On
Performed by: Ralf Mastwijk
10. Rain and Rivers
Performed by: Afello
11. La Tempesta – 2015 version
Performed by: The Dreamside
12. This Quest
Performed by: Angels And Agony
13. Open Your Eyes – Psychedelic Trance Remix
Performed by: Darvidz

Another Spark Of Light is available for pre-orders at Bandcamp.

The Dreamside, formed by vocalist Kemi Vita in 1993, opened their account the same year with Pale Blue Lights on Nuclear Blast Records. Consistent and well-received live shows helped spread the word about the band and resulted in a follow-up release in 1996, a rather surprising dance mini-album entitled Nuda Veritas. The following year came Apaika, and album which demonstrated both the power and the diversity of the band. A very diverse album, Apaika mixed acoustic and heavy material which blended guitars, grand piano, some ethnic influences, flute, didgeridoo and different forms of percussion. Their next album Mirror Moon finally appeared in May 2001 and marked something of a re-birth for the band. Guitars were a little louder and an album was created where metal, gothic, electro and ambient elements were melded in equal measure.
A further turning point in the band’s career came in 2003 when US label Dancing Ferret Discs put together Faery Child, a compilation of The Dreamside’s material for the American market. Faery Child featured a cross-section of the band’s material, together with two previously unreleased songs from the Mirror Moon album sessions and a remix by The Cruxshadows of the song "Faery Child" itself.
2005 saw the release of Spin Moon Magic and a single, Open Your Eyes, (a duet with Rogue from The Cruxshadows) taken from it. “A masterpiece of the Metal Female Voices genre,” is how UK metal magazine Fireworks described it: “a truly outstanding album which moves you from the depths of despair to full-on dance-floor mania”. Spin Moon Magic went into the alternative chart Top 5 of Germany, Italy, France, Belgium and The Netherlands. The readers of US music magazine Gothic Beauty elected The Dreamside as the "Best Band Of The Year 2005" and the Belgium magazine Sideline honored them with the title "Band Of The Season".
In 2006 The Dreamside celebrated their 13th anniversary by releasing The 13th Chapter, a remix album with 13 tracks featuring various artists. The Finnish label Lion Music released The Dreamside's fifth studio album Lunar Nature in 2009. The album contained fifteen songs including the track "Seeds Of Pain", a collaboration with the US act Information Society, and together with animation artist Eva de Winkel the band produced the stop motion animation clip to the track "Sternenkind".
In 2014 The Dreamside released their 6th studio album Sorrow Bearing Tree on the bands own label Spin Moon Media. The album contained 14 songs which have been well received by the international music press. If you want to know even more about The Dreamside than you are welcome to read the interview we did with the band last September over HERE.

The Dreamside links: Official website, Facebook
Spin Moon Media links: Official website, Bandcamp
18 Summers links: Official website, Facebook