This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

MERCURY CIRCLE - Presents First Single And Video From Upcoming Debut EP

Mercury Circle, a brand new project by Iconcrash's and Swallow The Sun's Jaani Peuhu, will release their hotly anticipated debut on 14th of August via Noble Demon and The Vinyl Division. Today the band from Helsinki, Finland, unleashed a first promising appetizer of what to expect from their upcoming EP, The Dawn Of Vitriol, with the premiere of a brand new music clip!

Dark metal infused with powerful synth/electro waves and doom - Mercury Circle is creating a diverse offering of atmospheric and darkly music where the songs differ wildly in expression and sonic aesthetics. Truly a genre of its own, grabbing the listener's attention while establishing their very own kind of "New Doom".

But listen for yourself and enjoy some top notch Finnish melancholy while watching the brand new cinematic and stirring music video for "The Beauty Of Agony" which you can watch and hear in the player below.

Jaani Peuhu about the song: "This was one of the first songs I wrote for Mercury Circle, so we thought it would also be a good introduction to the world of Mercury Circle. Actually, the very first songs were closer to a kind of funeral doom style, but with this one I took a step back and jumped off that wagon and started to follow my heart with the instrumentation and arrangement. I ended up combining elements from 80s goth and world music with doom influences. I remember how I felt nervous about the mixture and to me it is always a sign that I am doing something right. I want this band to sound fresh and original and aim for our own sound. This is New Doom."

Beside vocalist/guitarist/keyboardist Jaani Peuhu, who joined Swallow The Sun in the year of 2019 and has also worked with various multiplatinum-selling Finnish pop artists and metal acts like Before The Dawn, Lord Of The Lost, Thunderstone and Hallatar, Mercury Circle's line-up consists of guitarist/back vocalist Jussi Hämäläinen (Hanging Garden, The Chant), guitarist Juppe Sutela (To/Die/For), Bassist Ande Kiiski (Sleep Of Monsters, Rytmihäiriö) and drummer Juuso Raatikainen (Swallow The Sun). Link