This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

WELKINS BOREAL - New EP Out In September, Presents First Song

Welkins Boreal, a new band that was founded in 2018 by Finnish songwriter Teemu Kautonen as a follow-up to his former band Nattvindens Gråt, will release on 11th September a new EP entitled Ashes. Ashes contains three atmospheric gothic metal songs that vary in style from the raw heaviness of "Are You A Witch?" to the epic and progressive "Triumph Of Steel" to the catchy melodic title track.

In fact, the EP features the first brand new songs Teemu has written since 2001, given that the debut album Phantoms Of Yesteryear (2019) comprised of completely revised and re-recorded versions of old Nattvindens Gråt songs. Welkins Boreal opted to record the EP in the old-fashioned style on magnetic tape with the apostle of analogue sound, producer/engineer Anssi Kippo at Finland's legendary Astia Studio. Everything on the new EP is organic: no drum samples, no autotune, no amp simulators, no MIDI.

Therefore, the playing and singing might not be perfect, but the producer and the band followed the philosophy of the feeling of the music outweighing robotic precision and a sense of danger being more interesting than predictable perfection. The fundamental elements of the music are catchy rocking melodies, heavy guitar riffing, melancholic keyboards and baritone vocals. Fans of bands such as Sentenced, To/Die/For, Ghost and Charon should feel right at home.

Teemu Kautonen released with Nattvindens Gråt three albums between 1994 and 2000 and played an European tour in 1997. Teemu has also played with acts like Darkwoods My Betrothed, Furthest Shore and Wizzard. The Welkins Boreal debut album Phantoms Of Yesteryear was released in 2019 as Teemu's solo effort. On the new EP, the line-up was augmented with Aki Koponen on guitar and Toni Paananen as session drummer. Listen to the brand new track, taken from the EP Ashes, "Are You A Witch?" in the player below. Link