This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

KATLA - Unveils First Song From Forthcoming Sophomore Album

The Icelandic atmospheric post/doom metal duo Katla, featuring vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Einar Thorberg Guðmundsson (Fortíð, Potentiam,...) and former Sólstafir drummer and visual artist Guðmundsson Óli Pálmason, are now revealing the first track "Villuljós" (false light) taken from their forthcoming sophomore album Allt þetta helvítis myrkur, which will be released on 13th November via Prophecy Productions.

"When I wrote "Villuljós", which means false light, I was in a depressive period of my life", tells multi-instrumentalist Einar Thorberg Guðmundsson. "Everything happend in such a dark haze that I cannot even remember the actual process of creating the demo. When we finally recorded the album, it was done with a more positive energy. Actually caring about what I was doing helped a lot to get it right. Although the track has not lost its original sonic darkness, I feel very good about the final outcome. Guðmundur Óli has perfectly translated this musical feeling into lyrical darkness. This is the light that represents a false hope."

The infamous Icelandic low is defined as a large and persistent atmospheric low-pressure centre that forms between Iceland and Greenland and is often the cause of strong winter winds over the North Atlantic. Katla artistically translate this meteorological depression into dark doom-infused metal and deep musical emotion. An urgent sense of darkness and inner turmoil drives Allt þetta helvítis myrkur (All this damn darkness), the second full-length of the Icelandic duo. The soul crushing heaviness fueling this record makes Katla's melancholic debut album Móðurástin appear nearly light-hearted by comparison. Some of this album's core composition reach back in time for more than a decade and were born out of spontaneous rehearsal room-sessions that were only now given final shape. The result is a cinematic musical stream of consciousness, in which many of the songs intertwine and flow into each other. Link

Allt þetta helvítis myrkur tracklist:
01. Ást orðum ofar
02. Villuljós
03. Líkfundur á Sólheimasandi
04. Sálarsvefn
05. Vergangur
06. Hvítamyrkur
07. Húsavíkur-Jón
08. Allt þetta helvítis myrkur
09. Svartnætti