This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

MEISTER LEONHARDT - Debut Album Out In January, First Track Available For Streaming

  • Print

Moscow (Russia) based mysterious black metal act Meister Leonhardt will release on 31st January via Purity Through Fire the self-titled debut album. Meister Leonhardt is a new entity thriving on the old bones, dust, and hoarfrost. Meister Leonhardt consists of members of such well-established underground outfits as Thy Grave, Dekonstruktor, Goatpsalm, and Frozen Ocean among others. Named after one of Gustav Meyrink's most inspiring short novels, the band presents its own opinion of what nowadays black metal should sound like.

Meister Leonhardt's debut recording is self-titled and is a six-song mini-album comprising a thrilling 27 minutes. With deep respect to black metal traditions, Meister Leonhardt works in conjunction with raw sound and deep atmospheres, with anthemic melodic lines and clearly hateful vocals atop, all done with a live'n'loose physicality - and all in opposition to most modern "black metal" trends. As such, Meister Leonhardt the record is a conceptual work, based on the aforementioned Meyrink mini-novel, representing the narrative but reimagining it in its own way. Listen now to the first revealed track, "The Crown Of Consenescence", in the player below. Link