This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

MERCURY CIRCLE - Releases A Brand New Single And Video

Following their stunning and critically acclaimed debut EP The Dawn Of Vitriol, released on 14th August via Noble Demon, today Mercury Circle unleashed a brand new video for the track "Our Funeral (Like Xmas)", a song exclusively featured on Noble Demonic Metal – Chapter 1, a brand new label sampler by Noble Demon, celebrating its first anniversary.

Featuring members of Swallow The Sun and Children Of Bodom, Mercury Circle is creating a diverse offering of atmospheric and dark music where the songs differ wildly in expression and sonic aesthetics, establishing their very own kind of "new doom". While the band is working on their upcoming full length record right now (to be released in early 2021), they felt the need to take a break from the album sessions and to release something different.

Jaani Peuhu explains: "Although I’m not a fan of Xmas songs, I found myself with the perfect opportunity to write one in the midst of everything going on in the world today. In parts, 2020 felt almost apocalyptic. Sadly, Christmas is the busiest day of the year for police, ambulances and paramedics in Finland and I’m afraid that this year might break all the records of domestic violence and suicide cases because of the pandemic. But since 2020 has already turned so much on its head, there’s hoping this year’s outlook on the holidays could prove me positively wrong. Compared to the heavy and dark sound of upcoming debut album, "Our Funeral (Like Xmas)" is the most uplifting song we have ever created. We wanted to take a groovier and happier approach to the music while the lyrics stayed on the gloomier side. We hope you enjoy it! Happy Holidays! Jaani, Jussi, Ande, Jaska and Juppe." Link

Related articles