This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

SOLBRUD - Announces Release Of The Special Live Album, First Details Revealed

Danish black metallers Solbrud have announced that they will release on 26th March via Eisenwald a special live album entitled Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn. Since their formation in 2009, Solbrud has forged melodic and evocative compositions in raw, storm-like, and atmospheric soundscapes. Their self-titled debut album was released in 2012, and in 2014, the infernal Jærtegn followed, displaying a natural sense for complex songwriting that was further cultivated on Vemod in 2017.

Solbrud are also known for performing at unique locations, with special care for lights and props, which now results in Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn, a carefully curated live double-album and video. All tracks were recorded inside Brønshøj Water Tower in Copenhagen at two totally sold-out nights. The tower is known for its brutalist architecture and unique acoustics – 15 seconds of natural reverb, which creates a fitting atmospheric backdrop for the monumental sound of the band. On top of that, the tower was freezing cold, amplifying the nature of the music. Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn consists of eight tracks, including songs from all three previous Solbrud studio albums. Some songs have been rearranged and woven together, taking the special acoustics into account, while others blast through in their original form. In addition to their set, the new song “Sjæleskrig” was added to their setlist, which resonates hauntingly in the great tower’s reverberance.

Along with the audio part, the entire concert was also captured on film - and the video footage is included as a DVD on both the vinyl and CD releases of Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn. Apart from the impressive cover shots, the release also includes a booklet with photographs from the concert inside the tower. Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn was recorded on 23rd and 24th November 2019. Mixing was handled by Marcus Ferreira Larsen (vocalist of Demon Head) and mastered by Flemming Rasmussen (Metallica, Morbid Angel, Rainbow,...) at Sweet Silence Studios. Tracklist and cover artwork are below.

In other Solbrud news, while the band was supposed to go on a European tour with UADA in April 2020 and March 2021, both of which were cancelled due to the Covid-19 pandemic, they are currently working on their fourth studio album, which is planned for release in 2022. Link

Levende I Brønshøj Vandtårn tracklist:
01. Øde Lagt
02. Skygge
03. Menneske
04. Sortedøden
05. Klippemennesket
06. Bortgang
07. Sjæleskrig (new song!)
08. Besat af Mørke