This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

KING OF ASGARD - Presents First Single, Artwork, Tracklist And Other Details Of The Upcoming Album

Swedish black/death metal Vikings King Of Asgard have just released "Frôðr" as the first single taken from their forthcoming album Svartrviðr (black wood), which is slated for release on 28th May via Trollmusic. The Swedish veterans also reveal cover art, tracklist, and further details of their fourth full-length.

King Of Asgard comment: "The first single of our forthcoming album Svartriðr is called "Frôðr" and it is a typcial King Of Asgard tune in classic epic length that includes all of our traditional ingredients", remarks bass player Jonas Albrektsson. "The song represents our sonic vision of a sacrificial ritual, a glimpse of an ecstatic trance through a one-eyed point of view. The Old Icelandic word 'frôðr' means a 'sage' or a 'wise' as a noun. We give sound to the myth of the threefold death and self-sacrifice through which the god Óðinn finds the Runes while hanging from the world-tree, pierced by his own spear. It is a symbolic suicide to gain knowledge and unlock cosmic secrets. In order to visualise the sound of "Frôðr", we recruited Jimmy Johansson from Super Lino Puro Productions, who provided brilliant images to the lyrics of "Frôðr" that now flicker in front of your eyes. Enjoy!"

King Of Asgard have prepared well for their fifth sonic assault. With Svartrviðr the Swedes continue on the course and refine the style of songwriting that the blackened death veterans established with their latest EP Taudr.

In the band's own words: "We see Svartrviðr very much as a continuation of what we have started with Taudr in 2017. We combined all the elements that grew out of and with King Of Asgard since the beginning, which means aiming for the perfect balance between the grim and the epic, darkness and twilight while keeping our sound crushing and stripped down to essentials."

King Of Asgard are a perfect example for the classic Swedish metal style that oscillates between harsh and evocative Nordic blackness and the captivating epic melodies of their homeland's death metal - being easily at home in both worlds. When the band came into being in 2008 in Mjölby, in the province of Östergötland, a part of it grew out of the ashes of that city's split-up cult act Mithotyn, while another part had moved on to form the heavy metal outfit Falconer. King Of Asgard invite you to explore the dark secrets of the Viking world and those glimpses at ancient rituals that lurk deep within Old Norse writings. Listen now to "Frôðr" in the lyric video form in the player below, and check out also the tracklist and cover artwork. Link

Svartrviðr tracklist:
01. frôðr
02. rifna
03. hæimr
04. kvikr
05. ammobiærg
06. svartrviðr
07. harmdauðr
08. fæigR