This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

THIEF - Reveals Details Of A Forthcoming Album And Release The First Video

Thief unveiled a deadly video for the track "Apple Eaters" as the first single taken from their forthcoming album The 16 Deaths Of My Master, which is slated for release on 27 August. The Californian experimental electronic project of multi-instrumentalist Dylan Neal is also revealing cover art, tracklist, and further details of the new full-length.

Thief comments: "The title 'Apple Eaters' is taken from a line in J.D. Salinger's short story 'Teddy' and the song is a vision of the world through the extreme lens of a lonely spiritual misanthrope in a deceptively shifting time signature", explains mastermind Dylan Neal. "The hitwoman in the video is searching for someone or something, but her view of the world is colored by the lens that she is using. The strange horrors that she encounters end up being too much for her to bear. Why did she see those things? What did they mean to her? What does she use to clean her gun?"

Dylan Neal first made himself a name as a musician by playing the hammered dulcimer in San Francisco-based experimental black metal outfit Botanist from whom he recruited Thief live-drummer Robert Chiang. Although Dylan officially parted ways amicably from his former bandmates, he still contributed from the background as a "silent" member – for example by writing the dulcimer and bass parts for the Botanist album The Shape Of He To Come. This continued relationship is also beautifully demonstrated by the Botanist and Thief split album Cicatrix/Diamond Brush, which will be released in parallel and as a companion to The 16 Deaths Of My Master.
Eager to explore his own way, Dylan released Thieves Hymn in D Minor (2016) and Map Of Lost Keys (2019) under the banner of Thief. Although his electronic music is inspired in his own words by such ground-breaking acts as Portishead and Ulver, while critics also found traces of Tool, Nine Inch Nails, and Tears For Fears, Thief accomplished the rare feat to gain recognition and leave an impact on the metal world by scoring features in leading the USA print magazine Decibel among others.

With The 16 Deaths Of My Master, Thief returns in an even heavier incarnation than ever. Watch the "Apple Eaters" video below. Link

The 16 Deaths Of My Master tracklist:
1. Underking
2. Bootleg Blood
3. Teenage Satanist
4. Scorpion Mother
5. Fire in the Land of Endless Rain
6. Gorelord
7. Apple Eaters
8. Night Spikes
9. Victim Stage Left
10. Wing Clipper
11. Grave Dirt
12. Lover Boy
13. Crestfaller
14. Life Clipper
15. Cannibalism
16. Seance for Eight Oscillators