This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

MONDVOLLAND - Complete Work On Sophomore Full-Lenght Album

Mondvolland have completed the work on sophomore full-lenght album. The new seven-track album, for which a label is currently being sought, will be called Kwade Vaart and was recorded at the E-Sound Studios by Asher de Vries (Fluisteraars), while mixing and mastering is by Mondvolland bassist/vocalist Mickeal. The title is the modern Dutch equivalent of “quade vaert”, which translated means “wicked” or “evil"  journey”, and is inspired by local folk stories that explore the subjects of poisoning, death in battle, fratricide and witch hunts.  The band's name itself  is taken from the Dutch "mond volland", meaning "mouth full of earth", and comes from a local folk story that recounts how giants created the hills of Montferland in the Gelderland region of the Netherlands, the home of the  band's original founders.
The band was formed in 2006 and their musical emphasis was firmly orientated towards folk, but now, with two releases (debut album d’Olde Roop appeared on Apollon Records in 2010 and has since sold out. This was followed in 2012 by the 3-track EP Pestvogel, in both digital and CD format) behind them and the completion of their sophomore full-length album, the band has very clearly developed and expanded its sound and direction to become an atypical black metal band that occasionally nods in the direction of avant-garde and post metal, but  whose melodies are clearly defined and whose sound is immediate and accessible. Add to that vocals that are a mix of screams, deep grunts and varying styles of clean vocals, and you have a band that moves seamlessly and expertly through a number of extreme metal genres.
Mondvolland will also feature on an international musical project initiated by Drudkh's Roman Sayenko which will be released on Season Of Mist. The split vinyl release will contain exclusive and previously unreleased tracks from ten bands in all, including Drudkh, Primordial, Ava Inferi, Kampfar and Winterfylleth amongst others. Whilst some of the tracks are renditions of traditional songs from the bands' respective countries, some are a personal exploration of  their own  heritage. Titled One And All, Together, For Home the release date has been set for the 23rd May in Europe and 27th May in North America. Additionally Mondvolland will be taking part in an upcoming project titled "Elemental Nightmares". Below you can give a listen to Mondvollands EP Pestvogel. More informations can be found at the following link. Link


Related articles