This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

EMPYRIUM - New Album After Twelve Years, Details Revealed

Twelve years after their last studio effort Weiland, German duo Empyrium - the masters of natural ambiances set to music - return with a much-anticipated new album, fifth in their career, entitled The Turn Of The Tides. Album will be released by Prophecy Productions on 18th July 2014 and is an Empyrium-album par excellence, although it bears strong testimony to the artistic and personal growth Schwadorf and Helm have undergone since 2002. The pre-published songs "The Days Before The Fall" (from the compilation Whom The Moon A Nightsong Sings, 2010) and "Dead Winter Ways (released in November 2013 as a limited vinyl-EP) have already implied that for their new material, Empyrium draw on different forms of musical expression more confidently than ever, yet do not shy away from the wide range their oeuvre has offered so far. Nature and human emotion as reflected in it still remain subject matter of the songs, but here, too, Helm and Schwadorf choose a more abstract approach. The Turn Of The Tides adresses cycles, both within nature - the tides of the sea, the change of seasons, the eternal circulation of water - as well as human life, and insinuates how everything rediscovers itself in everything. Artwork was done by Fursy Teyssier from French band Les Discrets (click on the picture below to enlarge). Link
The Turn Of The Tides tracklist:
01. Saviour
02. Dead Winter Ways
03. In The Gutter Of This Spring
04. The Days Before The Fall
05. We Are Alone
06. With The Current Into Grey
07. The Turn Of The Tides