This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

GALAR – Details About Upcoming Album Announced, New Track Premiered

Norwegian folk/black metallers Galar will release a new album entitled De gjenlevende on 16th March 2015 via Dark Esseence Records. The album, which will be the band's 3rd full-length, was recorded at the Conclave and Earshot Studio in Bergen with producer and Vulture Industries frontman Bjørnar E. Nilsen handling the recording and mixing, whilst  mastering is by Enslaved's Herbrand Larsen.  Artwork for the album, which you can see below, was done by  Robert Høyem of graphic designers Overhaus. Joining the line-up for the album is Phobos (Aeternus, Gravdal, Malsain) who was once again drafted in to handle the drums, as well as several session musicians including both a string quintet and a horn quartet -  unusual elements that are ideally suited to the epic nature of the six-track concept album. The band's lyricist Jorge Blutaar recently explained, the concept for De gjenlevende is inspired by Pan-European folklore, ontology, and elegies and commented:"Its five contemplative texts tell of the utter dreadfulness that haunts both the human mind and body when the season of winter holds every living thing in its grasp. Winter is the time of utter gloom, enfeeblement and inescapable death, which challenges mankind, beasts and plants equally. Yet, as long as there is life, there is hope, and eventually a new era of the Sun will bring to an end the seemingly eternal darkness of winter.  With the arrival of spring hope and life will flourish once more.  It is a portrayal of this cyclical process of transformation that is as old as the history of mankind itself". Galar's  founders M. Kristiansen (screams, guitars and bass) and A. B. Lauritzen (clean vocals, bassoon and grand piano) recently announced that they had expanded the band's line-up to include drummer Tomas Myklebust (ex-Emancer, live session drums with Vulture Industries and Vried), and have also added live session member Pól Nolsøe Jespersen on lead guitars.  The first time the new line-up will hit the stage will be at Inferno Festival in Oslo on the 1st of April at the Dark Essence Records label night at Blå, alongside label-mates Taake, Krakow and Momentum. Intrigued yet? Then listen to the new song ''Tusen kall til solsang ny'' in our soundcloud player below. Link

De gjenlevende tracklist:
01. De gjenlevende
02. Natt … og taust et forglemt liv
03. Bøkens hymne
04. Ljós
05. Gjeternes tunge steg
06. Tusen kall til solsang ny


Related articles