This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

AMBER ASYLUM - Premieres A Track From Upcoming Album

USA based legendary all female dark/romantic band Amber Asylum, which makes kind of a filmic fusion of modern classical and post-rock, where arias and art songs meet in a pale field of electronic disturbance, made available for streaming a new song named "Executioner". The song is taken from bands upcoming album entitled Sin Eater, set for official release on 4th December via Prophecy Productions.
On Sin Eater, Amber Asylum's first studio effort in six years, the four ladies from San Francisco combine the ominous energy of their drum and bass heavy albums Garden Of Love (2005) and Still Point (2007) with the lushest string arrangements in the band's history. The subject matter of then album is the cleansing ritual of "sin eating". Kris Force explains: "It still exists as a death ritual where the Sin Eater consumes a meal or 'corpse cake' that is passed over the body of the deceased or laid on the chest. The meal represents the sins of the deceased and once consumed by the Sin Eater the sins are released thereby allowing the soul to rest in peace. The album speaks of this process of taking on the pain of others to set them free."
Sin Eater does not only mark Amber Asylum's debut for Prophecy Productions, but also the band's 20th anniversary. In two decades, Kris Force and her fellow musicians released seven albums, several singles and EPs, not to forget their countless sampler contributions and collaborations with acts such as Neurosis, Swans or Sol Invictus. In order to celebrate the group's 20th anniversary, a limited box set entitled Anthology is released at the same time as Sin Eater. It consists of twelve CDs, containing the band's entire work (including rare and unreleased bonus songs), topped by an accompanying 80-page book bound in leather with all lyrics. Now, please give a listen to the 12 minutes long lush and meditative song "Executioner" in the player below. Link

Sin Eater tracklist:
01. Prelude
02. Perfect Calm
03. Beast Star
04. TOT
05. Harvester
06. Paean
07. Executioner
08. Sin Eater