This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

TAAKE - Unveil Details About Upcoming Album

Iconic Norwegian black metal band Taake will release the seventh full-lenght album entitled Kong Vinter (King Winter) through Dark Essence Records on 24th November.
Over the years Hoest, the mastermind behind Taake, has steered his creation with unerring accuracy through the mire of black metal. He has avoided the pitfalls of either stagnation or over-experimentation, and remained true to the spirit of the traditional black metal genre, whilst at the same time breathing fresh life into it.
True to form Hoest has spent three years working on Kong Vinter, ensuring that the album is imbued with the unique Taake sound, whilst at the same time taking it even further. It is deceptively familiar to the ear, yet it is unpredictable as it winds its way sinuously through a soundscape that only a mother could love. A soundscape underscored by a nasty groove, that at times can seem devilishly playful. The result is an album that is both progressive and straight forward, with a touch of the devil's own music - rock’n’roll , making it unmistakably Taake. It is, in fact, an illustration as to why, for over two decades, Hoest has succeeded in remaining relevant and at the forefront of the genre.  
Kong Vinter, on which Hoest plays all the instruments himself, was recorded and produced by Bjornar Nilsen (Vulture Industries) at his Conclave and Earshot Studios in Bergen. With a running time of 55 minutes and album artwork by Tom Korsvold of Coverart. Tracklisting and cover artwork are below. Link

Kong Vinter tracklist:
01. Sverdets Vei
02. Inntrenger
03. Huset i Havet
04. Havet i Huset
05. Jernhaand
06. Maanebrent
07. Fra Bjoergegrend mot Glemselen
08. On Top (De Press cover) [Vinyl edition bonus]

Related articles