This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Please consider supporting this website by disabling your ad-blocker. This website does not use audio ads, pop-ups, or other annoyances. And please support Terra Relicta by giving a little donation if you can! Thank you!!!

Random album

Nydvind - Tetramental I - Seas Of Oblivion (2018) - Review

Band: Nydvind
Album title: Tetramental I - Seas Of Oblivion
Release date: 18 January 2018
Label: Malpermesita Records

01. Plying The Oars
02. Sailing Towards The Unknown
03. Skywrath
04. Till The Moon Drowns
05. Sea Of Thalardh
06. The Dweller Of The Deep
07. Through Primeval Waters
08. Unveiling A New Earth

Nydvind from France is the kind of band that needs no presentations as it is well known to most pagan black metal fans. But, let's go to a brief colloquy about the band's emergence in the underworld of music. Richard Loudin, lead singer in the celtic metal band Bran Barr, is the genius behind the creation of Nydvind and the band began the existence in 2000. In 2002 the full line-up was established with Eric Tabourier on drums, Nesh on bass and Loïc Courtete on guitar. In 2003 the band released their first full-length, Eternal Winter Domain by the French label Sacral Productions. Many tours took place across Europe and in 2010 they released their second full-length, Sworn To The Elders, through the German label Trollzorn. Well, now the band just realesed Seas Of Oblivion via Malpermesita Records. And, do not think that the band simply "stopped" from producing during this 7-year period, not really! During all this time they were on tour supporting other bands, releasing singles, splits and even a compilation. Now, no more flourishes, and let's get started on Nyrvind's new album, Seas Of Oblivion.

This third full-length of Nydvind is the first chapter of a tetralogy called Tetramental which is dedicated to the four elements of creation. A work of excellence, cleverly orchestrated by Nydvind, and for that matter, who cares if the band takes seven or more years to release an album? A creation of this kind, no doubt requires time. Seas Of Oblivion wants to be an exploration of the waves through the eyes of a navigator... Seas Of Oblivion begins with an intro called "Plying The Oars". We are immediately set out on our journey through a challenging and unfamiliar sea, feeling the cool breeze touch our faces as the sounds of the waves and pagan vocals engulf us in a riffing melody. The icy ocean currents of the second track, "Sailing Towards The Unknown", lead us masterfully to an epic and tragic musical condition (in the good sense). Clean vocals, an ideal portion of choirs and spoken parts, all perfectly placed. Nothing like traditional pagan metal bands. Nydvind has a very captivating and unique style. It's 11 minutes and 13 seconds of sheer beauty. Not by far, it's a repetitive track, don't mistake yourself! The solos are beautiful, innovate every minute, I loved this track. "Till The Moon Drowns" is another epic track in length, exceeds again 10 minutes, is a darkness veiled by the romanticism of the track, so to speak. Simply perfect acoustic guitars, vocals and everything, everything else is perfect! I know I'm repeating myself in compliments, but what can I do? The entire track from start to finish is of exceptional intensity. Of course, this is another favourite track of my musical taste.

Wait, I really feel lost in this bitter, unknown ocean now. The fifth track, "Sea Of Thalardh" changes figure and the traditional pagan aspects take over this track, several feelings comes to my mind. The navigator is fighting angrily against this furious sea, it is a very varied range in terms of feelings, from the melancholy to the infuriated rage of a more intense and enraged deadly growls, but pagan choruses are there, as well the melodic riffs, but the anger and the fury of the implacable ocean gives no rest. The last two tracks are excellent, here I found the most attractive vocals on the whole album. And I can not ignore the guitar solo in the final part of "Through Primeval Waters" and the beginning of "Unveiling A New Earth". Oh my gosh! Most beautiful thing I heard so far!

The last track with all these atmospheric aspects, with all the force undertaken ends this epic album of a sheer dose of unique pagan black metal. This is what I call innovative spirit. What brilliance, what a moment! Undoubtedly this album is very much the beginning of an epic journey through the four vital elements of our existence. Congratulations Nydvind!

Review written by: Felin Frost
Rating: 8,5/10